Bird in the House: Stories

  • $29.99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

In stock

Author(s): Margaret Laurence

A Bird in the House is a series of eight interconnected short stories narrated by Vanessa MacLeod as she matures from a child at age ten into a young woman at age twenty. Wise for her years, Vanessa reveals much about the adult world in which she lives. ''A Bird in the House achieves the breadth of scope which we usually associate with the novel (and thereby is as psychologically valid as a good novel), and at the same time uses the techniques of the short story form to reveal the different aspects of the young Vanessa.'' --Kent Thompson, The Fiddlehead One of Canada's most accomplished writers, Margaret Laurence (1926-87) was the recipient of many awards including Canada's prestigious Governor General's Literary Award on two separate occasions, once for The Diviners.

Collection: D-Literature & literary studies,

ISBN: 9780226469348

Paperback / softback

192 pages

We Also Recommend